about me:

 

Hi, my name is Anne! I was born in London, UK, I lived there for 6 years before moving to Berlin, and then to Caen, France. I'm a French and British National, and currently live in Caen.

 

In 2010, after graduating from Warwick University (UK) in Politics and International Studies, I returned to Caen and spent 7 years involved in a host of feminist and artistic projects: I made a few documentaries, organised small and large events, created some illustrated books, held conferences and trainings, wrote blogs, participated in feminist activism and non profit work. 

After a major life altering event, I decided to focus my career purely on illustration and comics, and have been learning to take care of myself. I've never been so happy about my choice of work! It pushes me to reconnect with my creativity and to create habits that better fit with who I am.

I've also found that comics is the best way to combine some of my favourite things: painting, investigating ideas and issues, telling stories and sharing my ideas about the world. I'm passionate about healing, feminism, nature and the environment, child and self development. I also love cats, walking in nature, singing, dancing, gardening, cooking and spending time with friends and family. 

My artistic work includes comics, illustrated books for children or adults, editorial illustration and illustrations, postcards or merch for organisations. I love using hand-made techniques with watercolours, gouache, ink and coloured pencils, but I also do digital illustrations or mixed media, using handmade textures and backgrounds with digital editing. 

Please get in touch if you'd like to commission work from me! 

Contact Me

© 2021 Anne Billows